The Year of the Dragon – Remastered Edition

Here’s a little bit of unexpected news about my old steampunk fantasy series, The Year of the Dragon.

I gathered all 8 books into one bundle – what they call on Kindle a “boxed set”, though there is no box, since it’s all virtual… And updated the previous 4-book bundles – or boxed sets – into the new Kindle format.

Everything else stays the same as previously, but if you’ve ever wondered what my first series of books was all about, and why it sometimes reached the tops of bestseller lists in US (a feat I’m still to repeat with Song of Ash!) you now have a chance to get into it. The Complete 1-8 Books Set costs £9.99, which I hope is a fair price for 8 full novels. All bundles are now in Kindle Unlimited, too, so they’re free if you’re a member.

There might be a promo or two in the pipeline over the summer, so stay tuned, and sign up to that newsletter for alerts!

The Saxon Might – out today, ebook and paperback!

The Saxon Might – The Song of Ash, Book 3 – is out today on Kindle and Paperback. As it happens, I just got my author copy today, so now have all three on the bookshelf!

The Saxon Might – Pre-Order

OUT NOW ON PRE-ORDER – $0.99 FOR ONE DAY ONLY!

All is lost. The Gods decided to reward Wortimer and punish Ash, and the future of Britannia hangs in the balance.

In the darkness of a prison cell, through pain of torture, Ash tries to remember how everything has gone so terribly wrong. Wortimer defeated his father and conquered Londin. He took Rhedwyn into his chamber, and threw Ash into the deepest dungeon. His armies are rampaging throughout the province, killing Iutes and Saxons wherever they can find them. It seems nothing and nobody can stop the new Dux of Britons from fulfiling his mission to destroying the Iutes and cast all barbarians out of the island forever.

                                     ◆◆◆

The Saxon Might is the concluding volume of the Song of Ash, a fast-paced, gripping historical fiction trilogy, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series, Simon Scarrow, Matthew Harffy and Conn Iggulden.

The Finnis Britanniae saga will continue in the next trilogy, the Song of Octa.

The Saxon Spears – The Song of Ash, Book 1

NOW AVAILABLE  – ONLY ON AMAZON!

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles. Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained in warfare and ancient knowledge, he soon becomes embroiled in the machinations and intrigues at the court of Wortigern, the Dux of Londinium, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia.

A child of Saxon blood, an heir to Roman family, his is a destiny like no other: to forge a new world from the ruins of the old.

The Saxon Spears is the first volume of the Song of Ash saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

TheSaxonSpears_V6

AMAZON.COM | AMAZON.CO.UK | AMAZON.DE | AMAZON.FR | AMAZON.IT | AMAZON.CA

2014 – The Year of the Quitter

A great summary of the 2014 in indie writing, by the ever-honest K.K.Rush.

It was a tough year for all of us in the business. I struggled through, but I have seen many fall around me. Kristine, quoting profusely from 2014 year summaries by other blogging writers (which all tell the same story), provides the most complete explanation for what has happened since last New Year’s I have yet read.

Bullet-points:

Writing is hard – Solitude and making things up is not for everyone.

Self-publishing is hard – If you don’t learn to love business, self-publishing can be a soul-sucking experience. 

Success is hard – Even major success—paid sales in the tens or hundreds of thousands—requires undreamed-of work. 

The gold rush has ended – You are not entitled to fame and riches just because you published a book. 

Read the rest at: Business Musings: Things Indie Writers Learned in 2014.

80 sites to advertise your book – update

I finally got around to updating my list of book advertising sites. Dead links were removed, and some more sites added. HTH!

James Calbraith

kindleThis is a list compiled from various online sources, most notably – Rachelle’s Window (go there and thank her! 🙂 she also lists Alexa rankings for the sites) and my own research. As of posting this on August 10th 2014, all the links below are working. Note that I can’t guarantee that the sites themselves are still working, that the forms lead anywhere, or that you will actually get anything for your money.

Majority of these sites advertise books when they’re free, as part of KDP Select or Smashword promo. If you want to advertise a paid book, you usually need to pay extra.

The spreadsheet behind this table is available here. If you think I’m missing something, let me know in the comments.

. URL Free Ad Paid Ad Comments
. 100 Free Books Guaranteed no longer accepted
. Addicted to eBooks Guaranteed registration required
. Ask…

View original post 492 more words

Author Earnings: The Report (what everyone’s talking about)

Author Earnings: The Report (what everyone’s talking about)

This is the most important Report everyone in publishing is talking about. Based on the data gathered through trawling all of Amazon’s database, and complex calculations, a team of analysts fronted by Hugh Howey has finally reached their conclusions.

The report is long and detailed, but these are the main three takeaways:

  • e-Books are smashing paper books in sales, in every category where it’s fair to make the comparison. So, for example, while cookbooks, manuals and photo albums are still holding strong in paper, genre fiction on paper is as good as dead.
  • there’s a lot more indie writers being published, and read, than anyone (except indie writers and publishers themselves) ever suspected.
  • while earnings of the big publishers are still huge, when it comes to authors, indies score a lot more hard cash than traditionally published authors, not only in relative numbers but even in absolute.

The conclusion of the report is clear. Whether your book is dross or a work of genius, whether you’re a marketing guru or an introverted recluse, the decision to go the self-publishing route seems to be, increasingly, the only rational one.

When Indie met the establishment (guest post by Laxmi Hariharan)

Cut to twelve months ago—as a just born Indie, I listened to Kate Mosse (author of Labyrinth) talk about how she was not on Facebook, Twitter or any of those necessary evils, which help Indie authors like myself build a platform. On a panel discussion she made it very clear that she preferred not to have her peace of mind destroyed by social media chatter, in order to really focus inwards and write. Then, a fellow author confessed how she was beyond the point of being a social media junkie—she stayed connected even when she took her dog for a walk.

It was clear to me that as a writer and a marketer I needed to find the sweet spot somewhere between the two. I needed to become a spider—a black widow?— an arachnid who sat square in the centre of a 720 degree social network web, and controlled everything that went around me, not the other way around. It was about choice. I absolutely had the right to decide when I wanted to dip into the social media world and went I wanted to unplug. After all, isn’t that what being an Indie author was all about? Exercising your right to be read, to be seen and heard unadulterated by veils.

Just one of the many insights I gained from attending the Writing in a Digital Age conference, held by TLC. I will be back at the 2013 installment of the same, as part of the storytime sessions, talking about where I am twelve months on—wiser, more confident, and in the throes of completing Return to 7 Islands (#2, Bombay Chronicles.)

If you are wondering whether to go Indie or if you are already Indie and pondering what next, then this is where you want to be. You will get the chance to meet fellow Indies as well as published authors, publishers, and agents too (some of them are really nice too – I promise.)

Writing in a Digital Age 2013, June 7-8, London. Tickets on sale till June 6th.  Laxmi Hariharan is a content branding strategist and award winning author of epic fantasy. Find her at LAXMIwrites.