The Song of Octa, Book One: Cover Reveal

I’m all but done with the first draft of the new book – should be another week or so. The Blood of Iutes is the first volume in the new Song of Octa trilogy, and the fourth in the overall saga of post-roman Britannia (I haven’t decided on the name yet!).

The story picks up some five years after the end of The Saxon Might, and focuses on a certain young man called Octa – no spoilers for those who haven’t read the previous books! (although if you know your early history of the Kingdom of Kent, you may have had some spoilers already…)

Soon, the preorder should go up on Amazon, but before then, here’s a peak at the cover: 

The Year of the Dragon – Remastered Edition

Here’s a little bit of unexpected news about my old steampunk fantasy series, The Year of the Dragon.

I gathered all 8 books into one bundle – what they call on Kindle a “boxed set”, though there is no box, since it’s all virtual… And updated the previous 4-book bundles – or boxed sets – into the new Kindle format.

Everything else stays the same as previously, but if you’ve ever wondered what my first series of books was all about, and why it sometimes reached the tops of bestseller lists in US (a feat I’m still to repeat with Song of Ash!) you now have a chance to get into it. The Complete 1-8 Books Set costs £9.99, which I hope is a fair price for 8 full novels. All bundles are now in Kindle Unlimited, too, so they’re free if you’re a member.

There might be a promo or two in the pipeline over the summer, so stay tuned, and sign up to that newsletter for alerts!

5 resources for history of the Dark Ages Britain

1. CPNRB – Celtic Personal Names of Roman Britain.


https://www.asnc.cam.ac.uk/personalnames/category.php 

The database of all Briton names confirmed in sources and found in inscriptions in the Roman period, from 1st to 5th century AD. Divided by period, location, tribe. Invaluable for coming up with real-sounding secondary characters.


2. DARMC – Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations.


https://darmc.harvard.edu/maps 

This one has everything. Roman roads, settlements – named and unnamed, bridges, passes, temples, fortresses, villas… the most comprehensive map of Ancient Rome on the internet.


3. ORBIS – Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World.


http://orbis.stanford.edu/

Calculator of distances and travel times for the Roman Empire. Google Maps for Ancient Rome, using main roads and sea routes.


4. PASE – Prosopograhy of Anglo-Saxon England.


http://pase.ac.uk/jsp/index.jsp

Similar to 1., a database of names but this time for the Anglo-Saxons. Covers all of Middle Ages, divided by locations, periods, occupations and more.


5. Rural Settlement of Roman Britain. Another detailed map of every archaeological find from Roman Britain.


https://archaeologydataservice.ac.uk/archives/view/romangl/map.html

An even more detailed map of Roman archaelogy than 2., but dedicated solely to Britain, rather than all of Empire. Down to single coin finds.


The Saxon Might – out today, ebook and paperback!

The Saxon Might – The Song of Ash, Book 3 – is out today on Kindle and Paperback. As it happens, I just got my author copy today, so now have all three on the bookshelf!

The Saxon Might – Pre-Order

OUT NOW ON PRE-ORDER – $0.99 FOR ONE DAY ONLY!

All is lost. The Gods decided to reward Wortimer and punish Ash, and the future of Britannia hangs in the balance.

In the darkness of a prison cell, through pain of torture, Ash tries to remember how everything has gone so terribly wrong. Wortimer defeated his father and conquered Londin. He took Rhedwyn into his chamber, and threw Ash into the deepest dungeon. His armies are rampaging throughout the province, killing Iutes and Saxons wherever they can find them. It seems nothing and nobody can stop the new Dux of Britons from fulfiling his mission to destroying the Iutes and cast all barbarians out of the island forever.

                                     ◆◆◆

The Saxon Might is the concluding volume of the Song of Ash, a fast-paced, gripping historical fiction trilogy, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s “The Last Kingdom” series, Simon Scarrow, Matthew Harffy and Conn Iggulden.

The Finnis Britanniae saga will continue in the next trilogy, the Song of Octa.

The Saxon Spears Tour – Review & Giveaway

Ya It's Lit

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

The Saxon Spears by James Calbraith
Publication Date: December 11, 2019
Flying Squid
Paperback & eBook; 481 Pages
Series: The Song of Ash, Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction

The old world is burning down
A hero will rise from its ASH.

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles.

Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained…

View original post 746 more words

#BLOGTOUR | The Saxon Spears – James Calbraith @eadingas @hfvbt #amreading #bookblogger #bookworm #bookreview #historicalfiction #TheSaxonSpears #JamesCalbraith HFVBTBlogTours

Jessica Belmont

Hi everyone!

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour forThe Saxon SpearsbyJames Calbraith. Thank you toHistorical Fiction Book Toursfor my spot on this tour! Don’t forget to enter thegiveaway!


Publication Date: December 11, 2019
Flying Squid
Paperback & eBook; 481 Pages

Series: The Song of Ash, Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction

The old world is burning down
A hero will rise from its ASH.

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles.

Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious…

View original post 746 more words

The Saxon Spears: an epic of the Dark Age (Song of Ash, #1) by James Calbraith

Historical Fiction reviews

48927041. sy475

#TheSaxonSpears #JamesCalbraith #HFVBTBlogTours
 
Twitter tags: @eadingas @hfvbt  
 
Facebook tags: @hfvbt

BLURB

Thirty years have passed since Britannia voted to throw off the Roman yoke. Now, the old world crumbles. 

Pirates roam the seas, bandits threaten the highways, and barbarian refugees land at Britannia’s shores, uninvited. The rich profit from the chaos, while the poor suffer. A new Dark Age is approaching – but all is not lost.

Ash is a Seaborn, a Saxon child found on the beach with nothing but a precious stone at his neck and a memory of a distant war from which his people have fled. Raised on the estate of a Briton nobleman, trained in warfare and ancient knowledge, he soon becomes embroiled in the machinations and intrigues at the court of Wortigern, the Dux of Londinium, a struggle that is about to determine the future of all Britannia.

A…

View original post 369 more words